Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bigger bike for learner

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Hicksey11, Aug 18, 2009.

1. Hi Guys. This has probably been posted a million times before and I'm sorry. But I need to get this question answered for my friend who is buying his first on road motorbike.
    My friend has ridden motorbikes before and has got the knack of riding on the road with traffic, yada yada yada...

He is one of the fortunate few that can afford to buy a brand newy and that is what he wants, so please don't talk about buying second hand.

Since I am only new to motorbikes aswell I don't have the knowledge to tell him which way to go or not to go.

Anyways these are the bikes that are in the category he's looking for (If I have missed any please put them on here)
    Note: They are all bigger bikes, not 250cc

This is all we have come up with so far. Although some of you may ark up, he is leaning towards the Hyosung GT650R because our local dealer sells them and does some pretty good deals.

2. He should probably start with deciding which style he wants.

Then look at the bikes that fit into the category he's interested in. Then he should go look and if possible sit on them all, then test ride the ones he likes from that.
  3. i think regardless what we say here, he will make up his own mind what he will buy after sitting on a few
  4. does it have to be a LAMS bike?

edit: ah, saw the title
  5. Also the Yamaha XJ6N isnt LAMS approved. Id have one if it was lol
  6. Husqvarna SM610 Tard.

LAMS approved and all :D
  7. If money wasn't an option i would without a doubt have a SV650 lams in my garage, but it all depends on what style your friend wants.