Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Big man, small bike

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by GumbyGreen, Apr 9, 2015.

1. Hi all,

Long time lurker first time poster.

Just getting my red P plates and ive been riding a 2010 cbr125r for 8 months. Im looking for a larger bike as i'm 195cm tall and weigh 152Kg.

I have the 125 because I got it second hand from a mate and its all I could afford.

Had a few years of offroad riding experience but am much more looking for another sportbike.

Despite the obvious lack of power in the 125 I really enjoy its incredible flickability. It does weigh 40kg less than me after all.

So suitable sport bike suggestions would be much appreciated. Looking as cheaply as possible. I can do most of the maintenance myself, so not too worried about service costs unless parts arent available.
  2. And cbr954rr or a zx9r would suit you well I reckon.
  3. When im off my P's im looking at either cbr600rr or gixxer600 but thats still a few years away.
  4. Oh missed that, maybe a gs500 will suit you
  5. How about a Cagiva Mito? I AM joking!

One thing which I have to mention, Gumby, is that you'll have gotten used to basically riding flat out everywhere on the wee Honda.

Now that can be great fun, but, you do have to be careful when you get a slightly bigger and more powerful bike, and ride with more restraint.

Given your height and weight, only you will be able to tell if a motorcycle fits you or not, and, if you want to go sports bikes, I expect it might be harder for you, as they tend to be designed for smaller, and very bendy, folk. :-(

So go and try on as many as you can.......

Good Luck with it!
  6. Welcome to the forum mate. Let us know how you go with your bike choice.