Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

better directional stability?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by garryspam, Mar 27, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am a noob to bikes and to riding, just got my L plates and a Yamaha SRX 250. I have done about 300 kms in town and did my first out of town trip today. I found that my directional stability was a little dodgy, in comparison to the other riders I was with, they were able to see my instability through divits in the road.
    Nothing too serious, not the actual death wobbles, but at least once, I had myself wondering if I was going to come off as a result. Basically it felt like my tyres were being stuck in the creases in the road.
    I have standard 3 spoke rims with good tyres. The bike is in good order with 38000 original kms on it, I have had it inspected and am told that the suspension is in working order.
    Is there a caster angle setting on bikes? is there a way to get better stability via adjustment? Or is this a mix between the nature of my bike and my inexperience?
    Cheers for any help on this matter.

2. This seems to be tricky one, and though I'm not a mechanic, I suspect it may be a loose(or stuck ball bearings due to dried out grease)bearings in the steering. But it's a long shot.
  3. Although you say they are good tyres check them first:
    Check your tyre pressures.
    What brand and model tyres do you have on the bike?
    How old are they?

Generally most beginners have the wobbles. As your experience grows your balance and bike handling improves. Make sure you are looking out where you want to go not close in to the road near the bike.

Where about are you? Can you make it to the Melbourne or Sydney beginners practice sessions?