Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Best rides in Brisbane?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by geckom, Feb 16, 2011.

1. I am fairly new to the bike scene and am looking for some good rides in or near Brisbane. Anyone got any good suggestions of places I should try? Am avoiding any big mountains for now but will check out anything else.

2. Matt there are some awesome rides around Brisbane, as I am sure there are around any other city. I head out somewhere probably one in two Sundays for a few hours normally, with or without company, but normally with a mate Chris.

I do tend to avoid the favourite haunts like Mt Glorious, Mt Mee etc and also try to avoid the major highways as much as possible.

Some recent rides have been, Toowoomba (Picnic Point) via the old Cobb and Co route, Killarney via Queen Mary Falls, Warwick to watch some motorsport, QR to watch moto ride days and motorsport, Lakeside to watch moto ride and motorsport, the Moreton Bay tourist drive from Sandgate to Shorncliffe, Boonah via the back roads etc etc etc.

As you can see, based in Centenary, I tend to go SW from here onto what I like to refer to as "the roads less patrolled" but still ride sanely and safely.

I have been riding as near as damn it to 40 years now, my wife got her licence two years ago but only rides in winter, Chris who I ride with regularly only got licenced last year so the rides are at comfortable pace and pretty cruisy.

Quite happy to have novices and learners along too, we don't know where we are going much in advance but just head out sometimes and see where we end up. Might be for lunch at a country pub or in a park etc.

pm me if you want contact details