Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Best price for a new R1

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by BIG A, Nov 22, 2009.

1. So being only three weeks away from coming of restrictions I have decided to go with a new R1 for my upgrade. Was wondering if anyone on here has purchased a new R1 this year or knows someone who has and what sort of a deal they got. Im in NSW and looking at putting a deposit on one by next weekend so its ready to ride out the day i get my full lic. I also got a price on getting the akrapovic slip on's fitted straight on for $2400. Is that about right for slip on? Im new to the modified bike scene and its looking alot more costly than modifying cars. Not familiar with the cost of bike mods and just want to make sure im not paying to much. Appreciate any advice.

2. Can't help you out regarding pricing, apart from offering the advice that your best bet would be to do the old ring around and play dealer vs dealer (Dealer B will do the deal for x amount, can you beat it?)

As far as 2400 for slip ons go that is ridiculous, order from overseas the dollar is strong at the moment. You can get full systems for that amount! (Maybe not akras, I've heard they are $$$)
  3. R1's are crap.
  4. The new crossplank engine in the new 2009 R1 sounds awesome, especially with a set of Akro's. Expect to pay between $18,000 & $20,000, depending on the dealer and what/if your trading in.
  5. $23,000 will get you a new 2009 R1 with the lot, pipes, fender eliminator, LED's, sliders, after market piazzo levers, tinted screen, tank protector and a few carbon bits. A hamburger with the lot.
  6. or an 08 R1 plus a 08 wr450.

or an 08 R1 plus a $10k round the world holiday.

but yeah, buying new is nice if you have the dosh