Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Best of the 250's

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by jadas, Aug 21, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    I know there's lots of knowledge on these forums, and I'm new to riding (Still yet to get a bike). I was looking to get a 400/500cc, but I think now for my first bike i might be better off gtting a cheaper 250. I want something that can still go comfortably at 100km> I'm not really familiar with what models to consider. so far I have in mind the cb250f, the vtr250 (actually what are the main differences between these two?)

Which models from other brands should i consider?

I prefer the naked style :)

2. I've also seen the zeal too...
  3. have a look at the gs500f as i was in the same position and the experinced people i was talking to said that after a few weeks ill want more power and also it wont be reving at 11000 rpm just about 5000 so smother ride
  4. jadas where are you?
    we had the same situation in melb yesterday where someone came down to look and talk about getting the first bike.
    If theres a training session in your state, make contact and rock up, talk to the owners get their point of view of the bikes, get the plus and minus of as many bikes of the type you are interested in, then sit on them, then get your learners and go shoppping!! Roll up to the training sessions and 'follow the wisdom' shared by the established guys, you wont go wrong! and good luck and enjoy the ride, it is a great feeling!!
  5. vtr is a twin cylinder and has more power than the single cylinder cbr.
    they are a good bike, won't find a better choice, if you can find a good one.
    i don't think they make them anymore.