Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Best adventure bike?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Skywalka, Aug 24, 2014.

1. Hey Guys!!

I'm new to this country (From New Zealand) and want to buy another bike over here. I owned a 1996 CBR250rr back home but thought it might be nice to get some sort of adventure bike this time so I can take off on little missions and check out this cool county the best way possible. I will also be riding to work each day so I'm wanting the bike to also be great around town. I'm pretty sure once I transfer my license over here I'll end up on my P's so the bike will need to be Lams Approved.

Can any one suggest a good adventure bike? I had a look at a Aprilia Pegaso 650 the other day. It seemed ideal for my needs but I'm not sure how this bike will be for parts here in Australia?

Thanks, Luke!

2. Hey mate, welcome..

Don't bother with the Aprilia Pegaso 650, awesome looking bike but it has too many issues. Also getting parts for it would be a nightmare.
    I've been riding a Vstrom '12 650 since new and love it, it's a Dual sport Adv bike. There's going to be some vids posted soon from some recent riding and you could see what's out there. Another option is a DR 650 which is more of a Dual Sport bike, these Suzuki's are cheap and you could get a lot of accessories for them. They're also bullet proof.

3. If you like the style of the peg aso have a look at the transalp 650 it's lams approved and Honda reliable. That is if you can find one for sale

4. A couple more suggestions bmw f650 or f800gs or Triumph Tiger 800.