Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Best 650cc bike for city/twisties and the occasional tour

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Peterstryz, Dec 11, 2007.

1. Wondering if you lot with more experience can help ...

I have just got my unrestricted license and am upgrading from a VTR 250.

I use the bike for fun, often commuting around town and a frequent weekend blast of fresh air on some twisites. Id also like to do a less frequent tour, possibly with a pillion (but not for 12 months).

Given Im a newbie, Im thinking 650cc is all the power I will need (and can afford) for the next few years but then which way to go?

I suppose my thoughts are the classic sports bikes (SV650, ER-6, FZ6) but its also been suggested I look at the likes of the V-Strom and Versys. Mind you, Ive read that the dual purpose bikes arent the best to develop skills and technique.

Anyone care to assist?

2. Not sure the budget can stretch to the Ducati ....

Re the GSX, its quite a bit heavier than the SV. Im 6ft and 95kgs so in theory its not too big, but what about around town?
  3. You'd probably be more comfortable on the GSXF, and it carries its weight low so it doesn't feel as heavy as it is.
  4. I'd give the FZ6 a miss, that's a bit of a dog IMO.

The ER-6 and SV6 are both fantastic, as is the 650 v-strom, which if you can deal with the height, is a very surprising little package that's possibly the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden and loads of fun. You do ride them differently to a sports bike, but it's no biggie and there's plenty of folk who get around very quickly indeed on them.

The street triple is definately worth a look if you want to go new and don't mind a wait.
  5. What about a GT650R Loz :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: