Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

belated hello

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by chrome, Jun 17, 2009.

1. *ahem* sorry, forgot to do this.

Hi! I'm 'new' to netrider, though I've been lurking on here for years reading all of the tons of useful (and not so useful, ha ha) advice for newbies, with a view to getting a bike at some point.

Recently a mate of mine got his license and a bike and has been on and on about how much he loves it, and I realised I'd been putting off doing it myself for no good reason. So, I booked my Ls and started spending an obscene amount of time looking at bikes online for my first bike to learn on.

I'm a computer systems engineer with over a decade of experience in that industry. I work with high end UNIX systems mostly. None of this, unfortunately, gives me any insight into motorcycles, unless they happen to have a computer system wired into them.

I live in Sydney with my wife, and when I finally get a bike and my learners permit, will be commuting to work every day on it. :)
  2. Morning chrome

Welcome to NR :grin:

You have been a chronic lurker, but now you're here. All warm & fuzzy.

3. You get 20 lashings for being so late with the intro too lol

Welcome to NR :)

Bring your wife along to the dinner night we are having :) There are going to be a few of us there lol Details see the thread in NSW Rides/Events :grin:
  4. Welcome Aboard !
  5. belated welcome
  6. A 'shiny' welcome to you, Chrome :LOL:
  7. Welcome to NR Chrome you bright thing you.

About these '20 lashings' everyone seems to be lining up for - where exactly are they going to take place??? And ... are there degrees of lashings, i.e.

Minor misdemeanor = 5 lashings
    Med. " = 10
    Big " = 15
    Very big " = 20