Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Featured Being overtaken in your lane

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Christinek, Feb 6, 2015.

1. #1 Christinek, Feb 6, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015
    hey all

Prefacing this post with I'm a noob with a lovely bright yellow L sign on my back plate... thumbs up for noobs whoop

I've had a few experiences lately where other riders have taken over me in my own lane. One was in the bus lane crossing the harbour bridge into cbd, in the short section that is wider than the rest of the lane (if you use this lane you'll know the bit I'm talking about) and another time was in a bus lane in a 3 lane 80km zone.

In both instances I was definitely not going below the speed limit, and most certainly keeping up with the traffic if you get my drift. There wasn't much space in front of me; I was a 2-3sec gap behind the vehicle in front of me.

first time (harbour bridge) completely took me by surprise. 2nd time I saw the rider behind me and I had the sense he was gonna whip alongside me so I pulled left in anticipation.

is this something i should regularly be prepared for, if I see another rider behind me??
    I can't help but feel it's because I have these lovely yellow L plates that some people don't wanna "wait" behind me - even though there's nowhere to go in front of me and I'm keeping up with traffic....

I did come across this thread but it's a few years old so thought it might be worth a fresh post?! https://netrider.net.au/threads/bikes-overtaking-in-your-lane.113283/page-5

any wise words or helpful tips???

cheersies :)

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Without going over all that old ground again, it's legal and it's safe if done properly.