Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Beginners Ride - Northern Suburbs , Melbourne

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Phillip, Jul 9, 2008.

1. Hi Biking world,

I'm new in the biking world and wanting to get some advice on beginner rides in the northern suburbs of melbourne. Looking at about a 1 - 2 hour ride and would be great to get some feedback off riders who know of any good rides in the area.
    Search engine is great, but its alway better with the one-on-one feedback offered on this forum. . .

Much appreciated

Safe Riding

Cheers Phillip[/b]
  2. Best thing you can do is to head to the thursday night rides. I know they are not in the northern suburbs, but if you come down, I am sure someone will ride slowly with you and give you a few tips if you need.
  3. ^^^ :LOL:

Shoot me a pm Phillip and I'll take you for a ride one on one if you like before you attempt the mystery ride...
  4. Happy to go for a cruise with you. I usually go riding up past Whittlesea and around Kinglake so could head that way for a while before heading back. Nothing difficult or fast.
  5. Hi Phillip,
    you are ideally situated in your location for a good, easy ride:

Head out Plenty Road as far as Whittlelsea, take the RH bend in the main road that takes you close to the middle of town, continue straight on at the roundabout towards Kinglake. That's the hard part :grin:
    straight on out of Whittlesea and the road leads into a nice set of gentle sweepers leading up to Kinglake West. Basically, just follow this road towards Yea (no turns). The descent to Flowerdale is a little more windy but nothing frightening. You could turn around here and go back, or continue on all the way to Yea, then back.