Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Beginner Q: getting your bike to the track?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by blacknblue, Feb 7, 2009.

1. Hi All :)

Posting this "track" Q here, because I am a novice/beginner rider still, and I thought the topic might also be of interest to other beginner riders with "track" at the back of their minds for future reference :)

Even though I'm a novice, am keen to have a go at a track day (Easter Monday perhaps at PI) so did a search (before asking lots of Q's that have already been answered) and found the relevant thread:

... and, also read the info on the PI website about the do's and don't's with gear and bikes, and their "fine print" etc

One Q I have which wasn't covered in the thread ... what do most people do with getting their bike to the track: trailer or ute their bike to PI, or just ride it there, do the track day, ride home again??

Will be a Provisional rider by Easter (positive thinking! :p) and I'm thinking not everyone has the "luxury" of ute/trailer (I don't), so am curious about this aspect ... or is it really too much to expect to ride there, do the day and ride home?

Sage wisdom from the wise appreciated in advance :grin:

Thanks y'all :grin:
  2. do what ever u want :LOL: ute .trailer might be the best . cause u could smash bike on track . then be stuck there :shock:
  3. Having never done a track day (although I would love too!) I may not be the best person to answer, but here's what's running through my head (yes I'm bored :LOL: )
    Taking a ute or trailer (you can always rent) would be the best way obviously, that way you get to PI nice 'n fresh. And obviously if you were unlucky and came off, you wouldn't have to worry riding a banged bike home.