Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Been researching... Got My l's :) Got the Bike!!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by willyboy, May 18, 2006.

1. Im new to riding and want to get a 250 (I live in Vic) I went to PS in the city to look at the vtr250 and im dead keen on a black one...
    Couple of questions

1. They want $8900 drive away is that reasonable for a new one, what are people paying?
    2. I figure $1000 for gear, If i'm buying boots, helmet, jacket, jeans, and gloves what kind of percent discount should i expect? and whats a good place to shop?
    3. Got a quote for motorbike insurance for aami, comprehensive for $780 is that reasonable for a 21 year old with no previous insurance claims? and where are others getting insurance?
    4. Booking my L's at the tulla HART, is that a decent place to go?

so after getting my cycle license i figure 12K to get me on the road with the above and the test, is that about right? I found a loan for 7.3% repayments on 12K over 3 years would be 85 a week if i financed the whole thing, which means id pay an extra $1,300 i dont think that is to bad...

Thoughts....

Cheers, Will

2. Not sure what the bike is worth, but if you can make the repayments the interest rate is REALLY good. I had a 12k loan with interest rate 11% and i thought that was good. It will also give you a good credit rating if you make all the repayments, and extra's.

Good luck!!