Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Been meaning to introduce myself for a while so here it is:)

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by therock, Dec 4, 2007.

1. Hi Everyone,
    I've been meaning to introduce myself for a while but wasn't sure what to say in the intro.
    I'm 35 and from Sydney and love bikes.
    Technically i'm a beginner on motorbikes as I've only been riding with a license for 2 years.
    Prior to being licensed on motorised 2 wheels, I've had some fun on mopeds and used to do a lot of downhill mountainbiking.
    Getting my license was spurred on by changing jobs and trying to commute on Parramatta Road with a pushbike. Needless to say, the amount of abuse I copped was hilarious. I needed something faster that could keep up with traffic. I have now ditched cars altogether. I find them impractical if you work and live in Sydney, plus the mountain of parking fines was the nail in the coffin.
    What no one told me was that being on a motorcycle was going to be so much fun. Who needs meditation or relaxation retreats? Get on the bike and zen out.
    Now I ride 7 days a week for work and play.
    I has been a smooth sailing journey so far. I have a Honda CBF250 as my main ride.
    The CBF250 is totally amazing, considering it's only a 250 single it has worked flawlessly and even took me to phillip island and back without a hitch. I kept up with my mates on 650 and 1300cc bikes no worries.
    Trying to upgrade though has been a bit of a drama.
    I tried to purchase a Buell XB12ss and that's been tragic. I've posted part of my experiences in the dealers section and I'll update that thread soon.