Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Becoming a motorcycle dealer

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by YammyBase, Oct 23, 2014.

1. Hi all,

It's a bold claim I know but I am looking into becoming a motorcycle dealer in the future.
    Possibly in Sydney area.

I'm currently working as an architect and I think its about a point in my life where things change. I'd start small and hopefully grow from there.

As a complete beginner I simply ask..

Whats involved? and where do I start??

Any comments would be appreciated Thanks all.
  2. You'll need a motor vehicle dealers license for starters :)
  3. Yup. So after getting the license, what then? where do I buy the motorcycles, I would like to concentrate on 2nd hand bikes..
  4. To be brutally honest, if you have to ask that question here I'd stick to being an architect. But since you've asked, you will need a stack of money, a premises, a dealers license and one or more brands to sell. Even with all that in place you will probably still fail as many, even well established dealers, have.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
  5. I sort of get what he is saying though, not many good dealers left let alone ones that actually have staff who know what they are talking about and care about the customers.
  6. yup you are right, but I thought I'd ask anyway... You never know if you don't ask right?

so, what do you mean by "one or more brand to sell.." ,,
    why can't I just sell all brand? I'm also looking into selling 2nd hand as well. like those 2nd hand car yards..