Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Baulkham Hills to Sydney CBD - commute time?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by hills_newbie, Apr 8, 2011.

1. First of all, a big "Hello" to all members on Netrider. I have to say, its a blessing to have Netrider around - so much information and very helpful members. Kudos to all contributors! =D>

I will be a new Hills resident during mid May 2011 - staying at Baulkham Hills. At the same time, I will be a new motorbike rider on Sydney's roads (gulp!!). I'm not new to riding ofcourse, as I have been riding overseas for around 7-8 years.

Here comes the queries:
    1. My initial research confirms that I will need a road bike for daily commute to the city. I will be looking at to buy a motorbike for something below $5000. Initial thoughts are Yamaha Virago cruiser or maybe a Kawasaki Ninja bike with low kms. Any suggestions/comments please?
    2. Is anyone here commuting to the city using your motorbike? Is it relatively safe? 8-[ How long does it take to reach the city? Are there enough parking spots?
    3. Should I consider other travelling options to the city instead?

Any comments/suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    hills_newbie

2. Those two bikes you've picked as your favs are the exact same I thought I likes. They have very different seating positions so your choice will be made up by sitting on them and seeing if you feel more comfortable with your legs forward or under you.