Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Battery cant hold a charge. I think

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by chokpa, Oct 2, 2010.

1. Hi Fellas

So i'll give the timeline of whats been happening

1. Got the bike from a guy who'd upgraded it and hadnt ridden it for a couple of weeks. Started it cold when I went to see it and it was fine. Due for its 36K Km service. He mentiond the carbs are due for cleaning if that makes a difference

2. Don't rego the bike for 2 weeks due to other commitments. Battery just sitting there. Tried to start it once but being a newbie I kept trying after it had run out of juice, then tried to push start it a few times. Battery was completely flat - didn't even turn. Faint clicking sound when you pressed the ignition

3. Get a trickle and charge it - starts up fine. Ride it a few times

4. Notice more and more it needs some throttle to start it

5. Battery gives about one go at starting and then goes flat. It does this if yo leave it for 2 or 3 days in the garage.

6. Trickle charger only charges it for an hour max before saying its full - even if its up to the stage where its even able to turn.

Have I broken the battery or might there be something else wrong with the bike? Spark plugs? I fill up with normal unleaded.

edit: Sorry, VTR250
  2. I sounds like battery has died, although a true trickle charger will not lift a battery to full charge if it is flat they are really intended to maintain a battery charge rather that re-charge. Riding should have charged it, although short commutes will not generally have enough time to charge the battery.