Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Basic tool kit to carry with bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by NWRAP, Aug 12, 2008.

1. Hi all :)

What would be the basic items required to carry with you on your bike at all times?

I am very very new to riding a bike and even newer to motorbike repairs.

Thanks in advance

2. did your bike come with a small tool kit ?. under the seat ?. im not that in touch with hyosungs and wouldnt know if they do. most kits that come with bikes will get you out of a bind. allen key, screwdriver, spanners, plug remover etc. you dont need much

3. In addition to the Hyosung one get one of those Allen key pen knife type things (push bike section at k-mart). Also get some open-ring spanners. Carry 6-13 mm on the bike.

A globe in a socket with leads is also handy.

4. yeah the bike did come with a small tool kit but most of it has rattled out of the pouch it was in and had fallen out of the storage area :(

Thanks for the replies now I have something to do at work today :)

5. if you're lucky you could get one at a wreckers. bit of a biatch that they fall out. lucky you didnt get a spanner in your chain there. no i wont say anything bad about hyosungs but thats kind of crap that they fall out.

6. yes it is crap that they fall out :(

Only thing is I dont know if it fell out while riding or if it fell out on the trailer trip home from Adelaide to Melbourne..

7. Tubeless tyre repair + reinflation kit could be worth considering too. :)

8. Mobile phone and RACV membership card! :wink:

9. $20 or $50 emergency cash. you never know it could be a while waiting for your mate to come with a trailor and you may need a beer.