Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

BAR ENDS - newbie question

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by jphanna, Jun 8, 2010.

1. Guys

i am new to the MB world. pelase excuse this quest if its dumb...

what is it with the extended bar ends i see on many motorbikes? is it for protection, looks, or some sort of stability aiding weight?
  2. ? i didn't know bar ends had an attitude? You'd have to ask them what's up in that case. Mine just sit there in their aftermarket chrome glory. :)

yes. Helps dampen out vibration.

See you knew more than you thought.
  3. How you going to know where the end of the bar is without them??
  4. The whole motorcycle comes unravelled without them, and there would you be. ;)
  5. And now I'm going to ask a newbie question.. do they only fit specific bikes designed to use them?

I've seen some that look quite nifty, and I wouldn't mind protecting my grips from further damage, but theres no way of attaching anything (short from custom fab work... or glue, lots of glue)
  6. Most bikes have the same size bars, but there is some variation (think fat cruiser bars etc.)

The standard form of attachment for bar-ends is a bolt and rubber sleeve that slides into the handlebar. When the bolt is tightened the rubber sleeve is compressed lengthways and pushed outwards, forming a tight seal on the inside of the tube.

You need the bolt and crush tube thingy.