Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ballpark figure for a minor service..?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Mia, Oct 22, 2010.

1. Hey all :)

I'm a complete noob looking at buying my first bike and I have a few on the shortlist: second hand Ninja 250's that all have less than 4000 k's on the clock.

Now, given it's not gonna be new (but still no more than 2.5 yrs old) and I don't have any idea about how my (potential future) bike was cared for by the previous owner, I thought it'd be a good idea to get the bike in for a minor service just to make sure it's all good to go.

What I want to know is around how much this minor service should cost? I've called some places and I've been quoted a range of prices, but I'm also very very VERY wary due to the fact that:

a) I'm a noob asking for a quote after having explained to them the situation/condition of the bike plus the fact it's my first, AND
    b) I'm a noob chick asking for said quote.

Can someone please help shed some light on this and put my mind at ease! I hate to be suspicious of people, but hey, I'd rather be cautious than naive.

Thanks in advance ;)
  2. Whip out the tools/bike's toolkit and do the service at home :) A hell of a lot cheaper, then perhaps if you still want professional eyes over it, just take it somewhere for a look over to make sure everything's cool.

I see you're in Melbourne. If you're not far out of the city, I'd suggest paying Everything 2 Wheels just north of the city a visit. Dude there is always helpful.

As for your actual question, I think when I started out I paid anywhere between $150 and $250 for a minor service. Which changed to the cost of oil, a filter and a little bit of my time to check over everything.
  3. Thanks twisties :D