Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Back to Australia...

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by B1K3R, Nov 6, 2009.

1. Hi guys,

It's my first time here and found this through Google. What a great site and community!! :)

Well, I am from Europe and currently here but will be moving back to Australia (finally!!!) sometime next year.

Obviously I had a wonderful experience in Australia driving a GSXR 750, really loved it every weekend going for a long rides everywhere....and the daily drive to work in the city..hehe...in 20 mins would be at work :) Loved it!

Anyways, this was way back in 2000, where i lived 2 years in Melbourne. This time, I am heading to Sydney for a new adventure and I would like to check a few things...

1. Back in 2000, I use to drive the bike all the time, with the occasional rain here and there and there were no problems with rain. I used the suit sometimes but on the whole I could drive all the time since rain was little. Yeah, I know the rain problem in Australia and I guess its still the same.

Is the the same in Sydney? Would I be able to go to work everyday with bike OR the rain is much more and thus not feasible?

2. I had done all the licence (car and bike) and tests back in Melbourne in 2000. Since then it had expired. Do you know if I'll have to sit for all the tests again or maybe I can just renew it?