Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Back roads of Tumbarumba (NSW) area

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by dobbo, May 24, 2015.

1. :woot:Hi,
    With the day off work, no real plans and the sun shining I decided to get out for a ride.
    Now, I know dirt riding is not everyones cup of tea, but I decided on backroads around my local area, so I thought I'd share. I've been doing the Adventure thing for around 10 years now, for many reasons, but remembering that 80% of Australia is not serviced by tar, I figure that there is plenty of exploring to do.

My bike of choice for today, was my trusty 2008 DR650, fitted with a 30 litre Safari tank which gives me a range of 700km, some fresh knobbies fitted (D606 front & rear) and recently geared lower(15/43) for sand / hill climbing performance. Plus, I had not been on it for awhile, and the battery needed a charge.

Basic plan was head out of Wagga on back roads, end up having a coffee somewhere and get home before dark with out any 'incidents';), as I have explored the area before, I thought I'd take a few picks and share with you lot.

This one is about 30minutes out of Wagga (Pulleytop road), looking South towards Holbrook (the Submarine town).

After the trip out through Westby, then 1 km down the Hume Hwy, which is interesting on knobbies with a bike geared low, so the DR was screaming in pain at 110kph, then turned off at 4-mile lane, out through Lankeys Creek and onto Jingellic.
    Pic: Jingellic's 'Bridge Hotel' in the back ground.

After a stop to stretch the legs at Jingellic, it was a trip East on the NSW side of the Murray River, along 'River Rd', an impressive 30 km of dirt heading into the mountains, with great scenery.