Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Avoiding RSI

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by mattb, Jan 29, 2008.

1. I think I'm in danger of developing RSI (as in, repetitive strain injury). I've been riding daily for five years and never a problem, and I don't currently have RSI, but in the last month or two my wrist has tended to ache now and then after riding, and it's getting worse. Today, after the Netrider ride down the Mornington Penninsula yesterday, my wrist and fore-arm muscles are aching. The main contributing factor is the fact that the bike is prone to stalling, especially when I roll off the throttle to come to a stop (usually after I've just filtered to the front), and being a big bore kick-start, this means stalling is an agony no modern rider understands, so I tend to be a bit nervous and tense on the throttle, and hence the hurt in the wrist. I’m combating this by tensing and worrying less – if it stalls, let it do so rather than hurt my wrist! Also I think I’ll change the front sprocket so she can do the freeway at lower revs and so need less pressure on the throttle. I already have a palm-rest plastic thingy on the throttle. And, even though it’ll spoil the aesthetics, I might put some higher and closer bars on than the drag bars which I put on about two months ago and which is I suspect another contributing factor. But I just wanted to check out with others who know anything about *avoiding* this : what would you recommend? I thought I might get a wrist support brace which I saw in a bike shop. Can anybody recommend anything else? Any exercises etc? Maybe I should try to strengthen up some muscles in that area....