Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Avice On CBR250RR

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by tcox, Apr 1, 2006.

1. hey guys another newbie here, get my L's next friday and was looking at getting a CBR250RR, anyone got and hints on buying these or things i should look out for when buying one

2. Biggest tip, Don't buy one from SUMOTO.

3. Good luck with the L's test, you should have no problems passing :)

Heaps of advice on CBR250's can be found HERE

4. yeah i gave SUMOTO a call and not only did the guy not give a rats ass about me they seemed overpriced. ive pretty much hooked one up that has a broken fairing from where the previous owner hit a gate but i havnt had a good chance to look at it yet so only time will tell

5.  Top
  6. I bought my CBR250RR around 6 months ago and i love the thing, basically u should be lookin for an MC22 engine, between 92-94 model with 25000-35000 is decent i think for around $5000 - $6000, remember u also need $1500 for helmet and gear and $300 for a service.

Wen buying a CBR just make sure it starts 1st time. Most should only need abit of throttle to start, even wen its cold, make sure it sounds nice, you can always add an exhaust for $1000, but alot already have them fitted, and one thats in generally good condition. Around 80% of the CBR250RR's that i've seen have cracks and scratches from minor drops, which is fair enough since the bikes are fairly old. Remember cracks and scratches dont make the bike go slower.

Try online at bikesales and bikepoint, buyint a 1st bike private is probably better, just go with someone that knows about bikes, you will get a bike thats $7000 in the shops for around $5000 privatley.