Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Autopilot.. baaaad

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' at netrider.net.au started by snuff3r, Apr 20, 2011.

1. Every weekend I ride from the city to far west, via Paramatta Road and the M4. I've been doing this on two wheels for about 18 months, since i started riding. A few months ago I started noticing that i'm completely in autopilot mode and have had quite a number of incidents, nothing major, where I've thought "sheesh, what are you doing? Wake up, stupid" to myself.

On my last ride out there I was again on autopilot. I was close to the M4 turn off, near the Shell servo. I nodded to a fellow rider coming the other way, turned back to what was in front and turned my brain off, as has become the habit of late. I was in the far left lane, no cars in the lane next to me and I was coming up to a queue of cars backed up in the right lane. As i'm approaching the backup, the car at the rear of the pack came out to go into the middle lane right in line with me so that he'll be at speed as i come up alongside him. Except, he's not going into the middle lane, he's decided to cross to the far left lane where I currently am doing 60kph. I grabbed brake and locked up the rear. He got to half into my lane, about an inch from my footpeg. If he didn't have his passenger window open and hadn't heard my screeching tyre, he wouldn't have ripped it back into the middle lane and would easily have collected me.