Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Are you a member of your union?

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by FatBoy_T, Oct 20, 2015.

1. I haven't been a union member since I was a student. However, I'm reconsidering this as the company appears to be taking an agressive approach to negotiations for our next enterprise agreement.

I'm generally in favour of the idea of uniting to get good conditions. However, it seems a lot of money to pay an organisation that is basically invisible at our workplace, who seem to have overlooked some disadvantages to penalties in past negotiations and anecdotally haven't been helpful advocates for some of my colleagues in decades gone by.

Where do you stand?

2. #2 titus, Oct 20, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2015
    My wife has adopted the approach that you might as well exploit them (unions) the way that they exploit you. Hers was the HSU.

3. I don't think there is a one size fits all answer to your question. If you've got an honest/above board boss/manager in a profitable business then you're probably ok without being a member.

OTOH If you've got an arsehole/dishonest prick for a boss/manager and/or the company is struggling then I reckon it'd be safer to be a member.

4. I've only ever had negative experiences when in a union. Was once a part of the printing industry union (can't remember the name it was long time ago). They forced employees to strike several times.....a decision I certainly didn't agree with.

The other times I've seen unions fail is with a recent EBA negotiation with a major mine plant support company. The EBA has been knocked back numerous times to the detrimental effect to the business and subsequently its employees.