Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

are Tacho's needed on a bike?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by BlueRex, Jan 11, 2007.

1. Yes

2. No

0 vote(s)
  1. I have been riding for around 5 months and i don't use the Tacho, i can tell when the gear needs to be changed by the sound of the engine much like i do when driving a car.

Now seeing as Riders need to be more aware of there surroundings do you think the Tacho is really needed on a bike?

2. yes !

man, I sure can do for some nachos at the moment !
  3. After using the Taco on my bike, I now want one in my car. :grin:

I probably use my Taco more than my speedo, so depending on what gear I'm in and how many revs I'm doing I can figure out how fast I'm going...
    So really the question should be, do we really need speedos?... I mean as long as we're all riding within our limits why should it matter how fast we're going, It is after all another distraction :p

But in all seriousness, our safety on the road depends a lot on the condition of our bikes, so the more information we have the better. You wouldn't think of getting rid of the temp gauge just coz you don't look at it.
  4. no, all bikes need Nacho's.
  5. Generally on bikes (well sportbikes at least) the tachometer is larger and more prominent than the speedometer. The manufacturers have been making bikes for almost 100 years, so I think they have it worked out by now.

Your power peak tends to kick in at and between a relatively narrow RPM range, so you need to use your tachometer to ensure you are getting peak performance.

So yes, the tacho is definitely needed on a bike. You can (and should) use your ears to give you an indication of your RPM, but the tachometer allows you to ensure you are riding it properly.