Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

N/A | National Are helmet covers legal or not?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by m.is.for.michael, Jan 20, 2015.

1. Hi.
    I saw a post on Facebook for an Animal (I.e. from the muppets) cover which goes over the helmet.
    Kinda like this one:https://helmetdevil.com/covers/animal?zenid=d5db25eae2e9208849dd501e8a54e780

Anyone know if they're legal to wear while riding in Australia? And would it vary by jurisdiction?

2. I would say no, but I'm no legal expert.

In my opinion, they will probably impede vision, block air flow, create extra wind drag, move around at high speeds (I don't see how they would fasten to the helmet itself, they're just like a big sock you pull over your helmet).

At best, they could probably be used at a function for walking around in for a laugh but i would expect you'd be fined using something like that on an open road.

Cheers
    Juz

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. #3 Oldmaid, Jan 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
    I think not legal but also not an expert...but why would you really want to...but I do always smile when I see this guy derbing along the M2 and he gets off at reserve rd on his 125 with a furry helmet cover with bear ears flopping about! He wears an open face helmet and it looks like it ties under his chin. I have seen these worn OS and is a very popular item worn by riders in a lot of SE Asian countries.
    Didn't someone post up that they got cautioned for having a Santa hat over their helmet??

4. OldmaidOldmaid is spot on.......... the question is 'why'????

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Doubt its illegal. What would the charge be? Looking like a goose?