Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Are engine rebuilds expensive? :(

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by n2o_spark, Jul 27, 2009.

1. Hi
    First up, i'm a newbie. Still an L plater.
    OK so here's the story:
    This morning my bike's engine was a little hard to start, it didn't seem to crank over very quickly, at first i thought, maybe i need a new battery... anyhow... When i when to go training, it was harder to start, and when i left training, it was harder to start again... so i thought, yep battery needs replacing. I stopped for coke at the local shop, and it wouldn't start. i had to push start it :( and i also had to do the same when i left my friends house..

so here am thinking i need to buy a new battery tomorrow, or at least check to see if my battery fluid level is ok. And i'm cruising down the street, stopped at the lights to get onto the highway, and the bike stalls. it doesn't turn over. and i tried to push start, and that failed.

I push it to a car park and notice that when i tried to push start it the rear wheel doesn't spin at all.. :(

So now i'm thinking CRAP... my engine has seized up.
    Call a friend to get a lift home, leave my bike in the car park, and will call someone tomorrow to take it to a repair shop :(

Does my Diagnosis of a seized engine seem right? ( bike rolls in neutral )
    Then my next question is:

Has anyone with a ZXR 250-C had a full engine rebuild? and how much was that? cause that's what i'm thinking it will need, perhaps new pistons and rings even, hopefully the bore's not scratched :(

It's probably not worth it in the end, and i should just scrap it perhaps
    3k bike with damaged fairings, though i've got new ones that iv'e not put on yet, that i could sell at least...