Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Are Adventure Tourers the new Muscle Bikes?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by grungenut, Dec 18, 2013.

1. I've been riding around on the old GSX1400 for more than 8 years now including a couple of tours to Philip Island as well as other adventures so I thought it might be time to replace the old torque meister. To my surprise though there wasn't much in the way of comparable bikes to choose from. Sure, Yamaha still make the XJR1300 but this really would be a step backwards compared to the GSX. So what's going on here. I couldn't believe that there wasn't a market for comfortable big bore torquey bikes with hilarious handling characteristics so I looked around at other types of bikes and noticed something quite interesting.

Adventure Tourers have always been known for their comfortable touring ability with high handle bars, plush seats and soft suspension. These latest offerings though now come with serious performance from big 1200cc engines. Looking at the spec sheets I can only deduce that this new breed of Adventure Tourer is just an old school muscle bike in disguise. Could these overweight dirt bikes really make the muscle bike obsolete? ....and should I trade my Suzuki GSX1400 in for one? To find out I went for a ride.

Triumph Tiger Explorer 1200

The Explorer has the most torque of the big adventure tourers and isn't far off the GSX, but with an extra 30hp I figured the Explorer was in contention as a worthy replacement for the aging Suzuki. That was until I road it.