Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

aprillia rs125

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by N00b, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Hi Guys,
    im new to motorbikes and im looking to purchase my first bike! :grin:

pretty much im loooking at the apprillia rs125, but being a 2 stroke engine, im worried about maintainence. just had a few general questions about them.

how often do they need to serviced and how much do they cost?

i have also heard they are much less reliable than 4 strokes.

um.. one more thing, ive noticed alot of 2 strokes have rebuilds, was wondering how much it would cost if this situation came up for me in the future?

Thanks in advance... :LOL:
  2. Hi Mate, hopefully I can give some input as I just bought a new RS125 for my wife.

Service intervals are every 4,000km and at 12,000kms they do a rebuild. A service is around the $300-$350 mark depending on what they have to do.

A lot have rebuilds because it is done frequently as mentioned above. Basically every 12,000km so don’t be concerned if it’s been rebuilt it’s just how these bikes work. A rebuild will be around $1200-$1500 or so.

I can’t really comment on the reliability to much as I haven’t owned a 2-smoke long term. The Cagiva Mito I learned on never skipped a beat. The RS125 is going well but then again it’s a brand new bike and I would expect it to run well anyway. Like most things, if it’s maintained properly it will be fine but as the maintenance is costly I wouldn’t be surprised if some owners neglect their bike and then complain it’s broken blah blah blah.