Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Aprilia rs250 rebuild ?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by aterese, Sep 25, 2009.

1. I am after some advice about whether the following bike is worth purchasing.

I'm after a RS250 and this is only local to me, but I am no mechanic, so I would have to get the Suzuki (burleigh) guys to do the rebuild.

"my rs250 needs a new or reconditioned bottom barrel and piston. i have the original barrel and a whole suzuki rgv 250 engine as spare aswell. all will be sold with the bike. selling due to putting funds into another vehicle. apart from that the bike is wonderful, new rear tyre and rego included. will be supplied with no roady . obviously. at the moment the fairings and exhaust are off the bike the barrel and piston is off the bike aswell. i will not be putting it back together. purchase as is, perfect bike to fix and make some money on"

After speaking with the aprilia service center they are quoting for a top end rebuild about 2k (assuming replacing barrel and pistons and labour).

Suzuki had cautioned about the barrel going at 50k being premature and suggestive or racing, but I've been told the bike was not raced, that its just the bottom barrel, needs work at 50,000 because a 2 stroke needs work every 20,000.

As a previous RS250 owner I'm keen, but I have no mechanical sense and I do feel cautious about the expense in rebuilding these things. On the same token, even with the costs, it is pretty cheap.

Expected to sell at 2k, then I have the rebuild costs. 98 model with 50k, so has a bit on it.

I want opinions please, as I'm bias and have to get my head around just buying a 2003 model with low kms and paying $8 instead :)