Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

anything wrong with a honda spada?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by cosmo_sydney, Jul 7, 2007.

1. its my second weekend looking at bikes and im heading out later to check out a 98 honda spada with 58000 ks.

does anyone know anything about these bikes? are they reliable? would i have issues reselling? etc.

for my meager bugdet, this is the nicest naked 250 i can afford.

appreciate your input everyone.

2. I've been riding my Spada for 12 months. There's not a lot bad to say about them. Honda engines are pretty bulletproof so they go forever. Mine starts first time, every time, regardless of hot, cold, etc. It's been a very reliable bike. It's a light, relatively powerful 250 (32 hp when new) and it's a lot of fun to ride. It handles great and brakes well, though be wary ay high speeds (130+) as the suspension can be a bit worn out and make the bike a bit unstable (as I found out the hard way!). This is probably not unusual for older, light 250s though.

I can definitely say you won't be disappointed if you buy a Spada for your first bike. I'm 6'1" and though I'm probably a touch to tall for it, I can ride it all day with very little discomfort.

Chris

P.S. Spadas were only built for a year in 1988-89. Anyone claiming to have a '98 Spada to sell you is talking about it's compliance date (i.e. when it was imported into Australia). All Spadas are about 19 years old now.