Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Anyone in construction in Melbourne?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by ageg, May 29, 2012.

1. Hey all,

Is there anyone on here that's in the construction scene in melbourne that could give me se advice?.

I'm currently a full time mechanic looking for a career change at 28 years old, I have obtained my white card which is the introductory ohs course. I have no experience at all in the construction industry and am keen to get some. Im willing to wok Saturday's to learn the trade and then after a while hopefully turn it to a full time job.

I'm asking on here because it's so hard to get into because everyone what's someone with some sort of experience... But I can't get any if noone gives me a shot I guess lol.

Any help from someone on here would be great :D.

2. Its as bad as I have seen it in Sydney for the last 35 years,you have picked a crap time to try
  3. Construction work is dying in the ass mate. Stick with your current job.
  4. If you want to work in construction related field go to UNi and get qualified as a quantity surveyor

It will open doors for you all over the world in mining, construction , agriculture

I am in my last 6 months of a 4 year degree I started at 39

Now I know a young guy who had 3 years experience as a junior trainee quantity survey while studying at uni - recently got a 200K + a year job in the mines and he is only 24

also quantity surveyors are in global demand
  5. Front up to the foreman on a big site and ask him for any available vacancys,

Even if he doesnt have any, he can put you onto to some one who does,

You will get work if your not afraid of getting your hands dirty and are prepared to actually work,

I dont, as I have just retired,