Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Anybody work FIFO

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by rat man407, Jul 10, 2013.

1. Anybody else work fifo how do you handle not being able to ride for 3-8 weeks at a time

2. I've done it. It's easy. The compensation is that when you do get to ride you can do it on nice roads when they're not swarmed by weekend wobblers.

3. yeah but the problem finding is that i only get one week off and it not long enought to do any good riding and my main meatod of stress releive is riding my bike

4. Before I started riding I used to play a suitably violent video game to unwind after work. Riding has replaced that. If I couldn't ride I'd find an engaging FPS and whop some ass.

5. Because once you're older than 18 you realise that forgoing something for 3-8 weeks is not actually one of the seven seals.

I have full confidence you will pull through.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. My job is RIRO (when I have a bike)....

7. Its easy, you just get into the groove and dont think about it.
    Its getting back on the bike after that break that messes you up!

The ride you would most miss when you are away is your partner :p.

8. i'm single so that part don't worry me i have noticed that after 3 weeks of not riding my skill aren't as good as there normal are witch will make this next R&R as i'm going to try and go for my p's again

9. Get two bikes

10. How is that going to help?

11. I'm a DIDO worker but not away from home for as long as you and I work an equal time roster.
    My main problem isn't bike skills because I'm not away from it long enough. 5 days max.