Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Any tips for riding in windy weather?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Dazshy, May 3, 2006.

1. Hi and thanks in advance if you have read my post and have some much needed advice. I'm new to bikes, having only ever ridden a handful of time up until about 15 years ago, then nothing, zip, nada!
    Got my L's about 3 weeks ago. So far I wonder why I waited so long to ride, but then after a couple of sessions in the wind, and getting blown right across a lane I realize I need some help to live to be an old biker, my goal. Any help very much appreciated!

2. I'm no expert, but I find if I grip the bike with my legs, keep my body relaxed and don't hold onto the bars too tight, things seem to work OK. I haven't been pushed out of my lane so far!
  3. This is a pain on any light bike and there is only a limited amount you can do for it.

Be prepared to lean your bike into the wind as you get hit by gusts. when it comes to going in a streight line with a sidewind lean is worth a lot more than stear. Stay very focused, keep your concentration up, watching for the things that make it gusty (trucks for instance) and get a feel for your bike. you will feel the wind take the bike well before you can see any movement, and as you feel it you lean into the wind using your counterstear if necisary (Don't over do it because you don't actually want to turn)