Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Any Snowboarders on here?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by MV, May 1, 2012.

1. Last week I went to Cashies to see if they had any good music gear, whilst trying hard not to buy lots of motorbike gear, I somehow ended up with a Snowboard...

So I'm going Snowboarding!

I'm looking to grab some fresh piste, pull off some backside 50-50's & get some fat air...

er... I think.

I'm a complete nOOb, I went to the snow once,last year & wiped myself out on a toboggan :) Not really my fault, it's just there was no snow at the end of the run... Anyway lesson learnt.

Got any tips? I take it working out how to stop should be high on my agenda, anything else? I've got a weekend booked at Mt Baw Baw, that should be enough time to get noticed & become the next Shaun White, right?
  2. I've never even seen snow in person, but snowboarding is high on my to-do list. The gf and I are considering spending a few nights in the snow for our four year anniversary in late June. Contrary to what I've been told, she thinks snowboarding will be easier than skiing because she doesn't think she'll be able to coordinate the two skis together...I predict disaster :p
  3. I am a skier,
    Get some lessons, FIRST, Broken wrists are common amongst snow boarders,

Enjoy yourselves. It really is good fun,
  4. I intend to try ski-ing also, if I survive, I'll you know which was easier :)

For what it's worth, I think stopping will be easier on ski's & that's where I could run into trouble.
  5. Cheers Brian, I'll definitely get some lessons & try to avoid the trees.
  6. Go Mt Buller, Same time to get there, Much better snow and more of it,

Baw Baw is pure crap.
  7. mv I can teach you to ski, but cannot help you on a knuckle dragger plank ;)