Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Any recommendations for a 100cc+ Scooter under $3000??

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by Umi, Jan 16, 2007.

1. Hi all,

I'm currently researching scooters, but there's so many out there it's hard to know where to start, especially with many different and sometimes conflicting reviews.
    Basically, what i'm looking for (if it's possible to find at all) is:
    **something around a 100cc or more (my bf reckons a 50cc
    would be less safe)

**no more than $3000

**can take a pillion occasionally

Any help would be much appreciated.

2. Thanks for that ZRX1200R. Any idea how good they are? as far as mechanical etc ?

I hadn't seen that site yet, so thanks for that.
  3. I have no personal experience with the Honda 100 scooter, the only Honda scooter I've ridden was the 50 (which is reliable but pretty slow, even for a 50).

The 100 lead is a 4 stroke, so I wouldn't expect a performance machine but being a Honda the build quality is probably fairly high and the reliability should be excellent.

There aren't a lot of scooters under $3000 new, and almost all of those are 50cc so you choice if you want something larger than a 50cc will be limited. Yamaha used to make an 80cc 2 stroke, but I'm not sure if they still do.
  4. I have a Lead 100.

they hit 80-85km/hour top-speed cruising, costs me 6.50$ to fill up the tank (5 litres) and so far I've had mine since June and done 6000km's on it.

Only problem with it is that I've had an accident on it and it's broken down three times now, the shop I was taking it to in the city (Sydney) sucked for service and repair work and didn't fix it properly.