Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Any real world pilots out there?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by kneedragon, Jan 5, 2011.

1. I know there's one -Nickers, but there may be others. I just tried my hand at writing something I've never written before - a pilot's report / review of an aircraft. I'd be very interested in your opinion, even if it's just "Too long - didn't finish it."

Thanks - Mike.

I've had a flight sim (Flight Gear) on linux for a while now, but only recently learned how some rather basic stuff works - which makes it a whole lot more fun. So I've downloaded a shed-load of new aircraft to try out. One of them absolutely fascinates me, and I want to try and write a pilot's report about it.

Now bear in mind, I've flown about five real aircraft in my life and never solo'd. I have flown a 172 and a 310, so I have some idea how the sim relates to the real world with those two.

The aircraft I want to ramble about is the Beech Starship.

The wiki will tell you all about it, I just want to talk about what it's like to fly. In a nutshell, it's very good, but there are some traps for new players, which, along with the UFO looks and the composite materials construction, and the inherent conservatism of the buying community this aircraft was aimed at, probably account for it's demise.