Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another newbie, with lots and lots of questions...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Spud Gun, Oct 29, 2004.

1. Hello All,

This is my very first post here so a big hello to everyone! Great site and forums, I am learning loads. I am a complete newbie in every sense of the word. I am 31, recently arrived on Australia’s shores from Ireland, and I have literally never ridden a motorbike before and I am going to do my L’s in mid December. I am pretty much as green as you get! As I am such a newbie, I am unsure whether this post is a tad premature. Nonetheless I thought I would say hello and ask a few questions, quite a few questions! I hope that you don’t mind helping me with them. I apologise in advance for the length, but I think I cover everything that a newcomer to motorcycling needs to know.

First and foremost, the bike! I know this is probably the most common type of post for new motorcyclists, and like other newbies that post here, I value your informed, experienced opinions. I am keeping an eye out for a used bike. I am 6’4” tall, and I like the naked, traditional or cruiser style of bike as opposed to the more sporty numbers. My budget is $4000 for a bike (gear excluded). I have seen quite a few bikes that catch my eye, but what would you think is best for me as a learner? Which would be most comfortable for me and for a pillion passenger (if I have one)? Would a 250 be best or should I go a little bigger if I intend to take a pillion passenger? Here is a list of the bikes I like, please add ones that you think I have excluded and should consider, or comment on what’s there:

Bandit 250
    GZ250 (Marauder 250)
    VL250 (Intruder 250)

Hornet 250

XVS250 (V Star 250)
    XV250 (Virago 250)