Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another newbie with a 2007 V-Star Custom

Discussion in 'Cruisers' started by JakeG, Nov 1, 2011.

1. Hi all,

Just wanted to quickly introduce myself to the forum. I'm very new to the world of motorcycling and have just picked myself up a nice Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom (pictured below). It came with all the goodies you see in the photo so unfortunately I probably wont be much help with advice on any of the upgrades. I do however have all the reciepts etc if anyone is curious about prices.

Modifications include:

Matte Black Paint work with badge removed
    Vance and Hines Cruiser Pipes
    Hyper Charger
    Kuryakyn Flame Grips
    White walls
    Forward controls
    Led Brake Light
    Shortened rear guard
    Kuryakyn Mirrors
    Bullet indicators front and back (clear)

Well thats about all I can see. The bike has an awesome sound and seems to have a lot of guts despite what I'd heard prior. Although I dont have a whole lot to compare it to of course.

Hopefully I'll get to chat with some fellow owners and share some tips etc.

Attached Files:

2. Yeah, I do like these bikes when they're customised like this!

Interested to know how it goes at freeway speeds?
  3. To be honest, I've had it at 100kms for about 10 seconds in total. I've only had the bike for two weeks and am trying to ride around back streets in my area to get used to riding. I'm not overly confident at this point so dont want to risk it on the freeways just yet.

Observations so far is that it handles the high speeds with ease. It could do with another gear though as it seems to be sitting at a reasonably high rev rate. Not too excessive though. I'll keep you posted once I've had a bit more experience with the higher end of the speed range.