Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another newbie question.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Spidapig, Sep 25, 2008.

1. Hi all, just after some advice, im fairly new to bikes only been riding a short time but one thing i did do before i started riding was buy all the safety gear (jacket, pants, boots, gloves and helmet) but i have noticed with the weather warming up im getting a bit to hot. My question is, how good are Draggon jeans (think thats the spelling). I realise they dont give the padding that leathers or the other pants do but are they any good, thinking about getting a pair.

2. Good for skin not getting ripped off or clothes melted to your body, but not much else. I use them for commuting to work, have never come off (luckily) so can't really say how they handled, but they wont stop a broken bone.

When I upgrade bike i'll probably get leathers, but if you're just commuting at nonfreeway speeds they should be ok.
  3. I'm looking at buying riding jeans aswell. I've read you can put knee protection in some of them.
  4. i ahve a set of draggins i use most of the time in summer, also have the knee protector inserts for them.. but the knee inserts just velcro onto the kevlar on the knee inside the pants.. would stop a bit of pain in an accident, but they arent much good for anything i dont think.

ive also got a set of rjays style pants. they are denier, have padding int he knees, hip, and arse, and come with a liner for the colder months. cost about the same as a set of draggins, and whilst not as easy to get into bars with them on, i dont find them any less comfortable really.
  5. As i do most of my riding at 100k's i think i might be better sticking with my current riding pants. At least they have some padding in them.