Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another new forum person says hi!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by undii, Feb 15, 2005.

1. I'd like to just say hi. I am in the process of getting my first bike. I'm 31, used to ride as a teenager and finally decided to ride on the road. I have a question in regards to clothes. Can anyone reccommend a shop for riding gear (jacket, boots, helmet, gloves) either around caulfield or richmond areas?

Still not 100% decided on the bike I want. So far I've been looking at 4 strokes. I'm doing a course at motorcyclemotion and will have my learners on March 2nd. Hope to see you guys at some riding events in the future.
  2. Hi undii - I'm a newbie as well. I did my L's at MM last year, they're pretty good. I did my full licence last month at HART.

As for your gear, shop around a fair bit for better prices, have a look out at Ringwood, there are a number of stores out there, and also at Dandenong.

Have fun ! :)
  3. G'day undii... Welcome to the motorcycling world! Good luck finding some gear, as doonks suggested shop around. Elisebeth St is close to you and has a lot of bike shops.
  4. I wouldn't try and get everything from the one store unless you are looking to get one of those "learner rider packages" where they bundle a basic helmet, basic jacket, basic gloves and basic boots".

Those can be good buying for someone just starting out, otherwise you'll almost certainly get better value by shopping around.

Make sure the gear fits _well_, nothing worse than buying stuff and then it annoys you for the next 2 years :)
  5. Hello and welcome :D

Good luck with getting a bike and licence etc :D

Lisa :twisted:
  6. allo mate
    and welcome :D