Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another insurance question - other party claims not at fault

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by bluemuppet, May 10, 2008.

1. Hi Guys,

I don't usually post here, and tend to be more active at OCAU/MC forums, but I'm very interested to hear from people here as well. For the record, I have been riding for a couple of years - almost daily. My bike is (was) an '03 Kawa Z1000.

Basically, several weeks ago I was involved in a low speed collision in which I was following a chap in a Volksy passat around a corner in clifton hill. After the corner, he slowed and pulled to the left, with me behind him. As he was slowing and fully pulling over into the parking spot, I assumed that he was, well, parking. However as I continue around his car, his front end starts to swing out. Oh crap! I try to move to the right to dodge, but he keeps coming as he is executing his U turn. BAM I hit his front bumper just in front of his right front wheel, and I deflect off, my bike hitting the blacktop (which has now been declared a repairable write off) and I get up shaken. At the time he was very apologetic, producing his insurance quickly and apologising as he says he didnt see me and says he missed his turn off earlier on hoddle street, hence the U turn.

Some other details:
    This is in Vic.

The bike was not ridable and had to be towed from the scene - I gave my insurance company (full comp with Swann) a copy of the tow docket.

I rang the cops after the incident and because no one was seriously injured they basically did not want to hear about it - therefore it is not on police file.

My post on OCAU/MC: