Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another due to join the ranks! Advice?

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Rastus, Feb 23, 2012.

1. Howdy all, i've been reading these forums for the last 2 weeks or so trying to soak up as much info and advice as possible. Seems like an awesome and supportive community here, so I figured I may as well join up and get involved! :cheeky:

First off, you'll have to forgive my lack of knowlegde, Im totally new to the riding scene!

So I haven't got my L's yet, studying up for my L's test in about 2 weeks. Booked it in with Armstrongs in Thomastown, here in Melbourne (oh yeah I'm from Melb :p).

I've been into the CBD to talk to some of the salespeople at Peter Stevens and SpotOn, who were quite informative and let me get a feel for different bikes by taking a seat, was really impressed.

The only type i havent sat on yet, and the one im probably most interested in, are Cruisers.

I've been doing a lot of reading here and elsewhere about first bike recommendations, which cruisers are supposed to be good/reliable etc but thought I'd seek some advice on what you guys would recommend (not sure if this is the place, so forgive me if it's not).

I'm budgeting for 2500 to 3000 for the bike. I'm 25 (not that age seems to matter ;) ), about 5' 8-9"-ish and weigh about 70kg's.

So I've been mainly looking at 250cc LAMS bikes as from what I've read 250cc is a safe bet for learning to ride. The main use of the bike would be running around town, and I would eventually (once i build the confidence up) be riding it down main roads and on the freeways etc.