Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Another Canberra rider? Like we need more!

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Guran, Mar 16, 2007.

1. Hello! I'm a newb here but have been posting over at TW for about a year, so some will recognise the user name (it's the same).

I ride a scooter (2001 Italjet Torpedo 150 4T), commute 40km every day on it in Canberra. I got it because it was a cheap transit option when petrol was heading toward $1.50, but I soon realised that, while 4 wheels move the body, 2 wheels move the soul. I'm happy on the scoot as I can still match freeway speed with the traffic, lean into the twisties and evade traffic jams. While I'm building riding skills I'm not distracted by gears and such. In a year or two when the auto restriction comes off my licence I'll consider getting a moderate naked - maybe a GS500 or similar, but for the moment I'm a happy guy.

I wear proper gear - none of this idiotic "its a scooter, it's safer" crap. Full face, good gloves, armoured textile jacket, draggins, boots. I like my skin where it is. If that makes me look odd, I don't give a shit.

Yes, I work for the government (insert public servant jibe here). Let's just say I have a good news job and the hours are family friendly, so why wouldn't I be happy to admit it?!

Hope there's some interesting topics over here - TW seems a bit off balance lately.

- Guran
  2. Hello! Glad you gear up, and glad you have your sights set higher up in the two wheeled world.
    Scooters are cool, but a proper motorbike is so much more versatile.

Regards, Andrew.
  3. Welcome, Guran :). Netrider's a neat place to be. We pay out on Harleys, Ducatis, Public Servants, traffic cops, squids, and all sorts of people, but ESPECIALLY on scooter riders :LOL: