Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Am test riding a 98 Blade on the weekend

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Gezza24, May 21, 2008.

1. Hi All,

As the title says, I've decided to sell out to the 4 stroke crowd and buy a 98 CBR900RR or a GSXR600 or 750. I'm leaning towards the blade because of their reliability reputation and excellent reviews they got in their time. Also they've been around for a while meaning more parts.

Does anyone have any tips for my first test ride? I've been riding on the road for 2 years and have been riding dirt bikes most of my life. Trouble is the only 4-strokes I've ridden have been a WR426 and a VTR250. Obviously neither of them had 130 horsepower, so am a little, how should I say, trepidatious :shock: I know it's going to have a fair bit more engine braking than my RGV and also will be a hell of a lot more responsive.

Also it's got 46,000km's on it and it's $6,000 with rego till march. Is that unreasonable. I've heard these engines will last a good long time witout ever opening them up. That most of the appeal of it. Push button and go. Also it will suit my weekend trips out to the country and I like a bit of sportiness too.

Any tips would be much appreciated :grin:
  2. Mate if you can ride an RGV, an old blade will be a piece of piss.

There's some bloody cheap ones around, hold out until you find one that's in great nick, with all the fairing bolts and everything in good condition. You know the type; never ridden in the wet blah blah blah.

Comfort factor isn't exceptional - maybe throw in a test ride of a 98-onwards ZX9R, there's some excellent niners out there with similar power and nice handling but genuine all-day comfort where a blade or gixxer might get a bit challenging.