Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Am i ready for a litre bike?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by cbwolf, Mar 26, 2009.

1. So, my restrictions are soon to expire and i am, of course looking at my next bike. I've got my heart set on either a K8 GSX-R1000 or a new 09 R1. However, i'm concerned at the safety aspect of riding such a powerful bike for a relatively inexperience rider.

I've been riding for approximately 18 months, starting on a CBR250RR, which got written off thanks to a clueless p plater turning in front of me, to be replaced with a Hyosung GT650RL. I then got the Hyosung de-restricted (same power as an SV650) and have been riding it that way for the past 6 months. I've done quite a lot of twisties, all up Yarra Glen, Chum Creek, Black Spure, GOR and am quite comfortable with them at a moderate speed - however am looking for more power from a bike.

Now i know that technically, anybody could ride a 5000cc bike as long as you control your right hand, but realistically, i'm nervous about buying a litre bike and want some insight on what they are like to live with day to day (i commute to work daily) and if it's going to get me into trouble.
  2. 650cc vtwin to 1000cc? No problem at all, you've stepped up gradually which is good. Granted I had zzr for 14 months and the SV for 12 so a bit more than you, but I'm a fairly cruisey rider.. Went to 929cc no problem. That may be because it was a honda and they all share the trait of being extremely easy to ride - user friendly.
  3. Depends if you think you can control yourself. 1000cc bikes are not difficult to ride if you respect the throttle.