Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Am i kidding myself?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by serafina, Apr 7, 2006.

1. I'm starting out and currently have about $3000-$3500 to spend on a bike. Am i kidding myself? I would like something ready to go - i have very little mechanical knowledge so i don't want something that needs work or is bound to break down. Also as much rego on it as possible would be great.
    I've been doing some looking and i can't find a bloody thing.

Should i forget it? :cry:

2. keep looking, if thats your bike budget alone, no problems. Will be an older bike, but you will be able to pick something up in ready to go for that price.
  3. Is that budget exclusive of gear? You'll need around $1,000 for helmet, jacket, gloves, and boots. If you've already got the gear, or that's coming from another budget, then keep looking - reasonably decent 250's can be found for 3,500.
  4. it depends what size or year model bike your looking for i spent $4000 on a 94 yzf600 and there is not a thing wrong with it mechanically although it was dropped once before i got it but a newer bike will certainly cost more
    keep looking though something always turns up
  5. I take it that you haven't allowed for gear as well?

start thinking that $800 to $1000 of that money will be for Helmet, Jacket, Gloves, Boots etc.

Now you've got $2200-$2700 to spend on a bike. But even with that you should still be able find a decent little 250. Nothing special mind you, but it'll teach you what you need to learn and hopefully last you the 15-18 months before you decide you need something bigger...

No, you shouldn't forget it.
  6. I spent $4300 on a GPX-250 including on road and 12 months warranty.

Extra costs;
    Lid $300
    Jacket $300