Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Aluminium vs steel frames

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by kols_kebabs, Oct 17, 2009.

1. Why is aluminium the modern standard for motorcycle frames?

Why don't ducati use aluminium for their trellis frames?

Why do KTM still build their dirtbikes with steel frames?

Aluminium is far more vulnerable to fatigue, so I'm told. Aluminium also has to be thicker for a given strength. These are things I have heard.
  2. I'm no materials engineer, but to start the thread off:

Because it is easy to cast into nice sports-bike shapes. You could do the same with steel, but it is more costly to cast and would be much too heavy.

To answer the other questions, you need to know what you mean by 'strength' before we begin. I'm not going to give you a mini lecture on materials science, because it'll take too long and I'm sure to make mistakes. Maybe someone else will though...

Go to the library and read some books - J.E Gordon is thoroughly outdated but still relevant, and easy to follow for the non-engineer. Or do a quick google :rolleyes:

Once you understand your question, you will understand the answers - or be able to answer them yourself.
  3. some more reasons.

It don't rust so you don't need to paint it, it's lighter, it's easier to work with, noobs strip thread in it easier so they make money off you when you take it in for repairs, its cheaper then magnesium, sounds cooler to say and Americans cant say or spell it.
  4. There's the reason, right there.

The frame of my 1987 FZR1000 is 12kilos (cast aluminium) that
    might have something to do with it.
  5. don't forget that it also mimics race bikes, so that gets the boys in ....